Fighting Pregnancy Insomnia

It honestly wasn’t until this pregnancy, and this (third) trimester, before I actually experienced pregnancy insomnia. Sure, I still have to get up several times a night to use the toilet, but other than that I’ve been able to sleep fairly well overall. But these last few weeks have been a real struggle.

The biggest part of my problem has been that I’ve been lying in bed reading or watching shows because I needed to rest, and sitting up just wasn’t comfortable. And now I’m fighting that bad habit I’ve given myself. But, thankfully, I think I’ve found a couple things to do right before bed that help me, at the very least, fall asleep quicker if not sleep better all night.

Warm Bath – I can’t tell you how wonderful it feels to take a bath at the end of the day. It is so relaxing and feels incredible on my aching back and swollen legs and arms. I love putting epsom salts and essential oils in, too, to give it a little extra boost. Right now my go to oils are jasmine, lemon, and lavender. They smell great together, help ease the swelling, and provide a wonderfully relaxing scent. I like to make sure to add the oils to the salts first, because I have gotten minor skin burns from putting essential oils straight into the bath.

Yoga – I remember at the end of my first pregnancy I had lost so much of my flexibility and I think that was a bit of a detriment during labor and delivery. So this time around I’m trying to do what I can to avoid that. So I like to do a really easy, short sequence of yoga poses that help loosen things up and also help me do some light strength training. My suggestion – find easy poses you can do; and if one stops being comfortable or doable, adjust it or stop doing it. You definitely don’t want to overdue it.

Calming Music – I have finally put together a spa radio station on my Pandora that I absolutely love. It is so soothing and relaxing so I play it during my bath and while I do yoga. It just helps create the perfect mood for the end of the day.

Scripture Reading – I’ll be honest and say I am terrible about reading my scriptures every day. I always forget or make up an excuse as to why I can’t read them at the moment. So I’m going to try this and see if it sticks as a good time of day to read scriptures. It’s a great way to end the day and really helps keep my anxieties in check. Reading my scriptures right before bed has helped me to focus on what is really important.

Some of you may find that doing these things would work better for you if you did them in the morning or as a midday pick-me-up. Do whatever works for you to help you relax, especially in your third trimester. This can be one of the harder parts of pregnancy so finding ways to relax and get any kind of sleep is a must.

Leave a Reply

