Preparing for the Big Move

Moving to a new home is never a picnic. And let me tell you, moving while pregnant is even worse. We moved when I was seven months pregnant with Sweet Girl, luckily just about a mile away. I hated being relegated to director, because I have always been one of the heavy lifters. And this time around it’s even more so the case because I’ve been having more contractions from the extra stress of our situation. I am trying my best to take it easy, at least on the activity front, but it is so incredibly hard. But I wanted to share some of the things I’m doing that are making it a little easier to get through this complicated process without spurring pre-term labor.

Get Organized

Especially when you have kids already, if you are pregnant and moving before or around baby’s due date, it is incredibly important to be as organized as possible. For me it’s like a dream come true. I love to make lists and so I now have a notebook full of all of my different lists. Some are packing lists, some are things I want to have ready in case baby comes much sooner than we’re expecting. I’ve also written down the services we need to have moved to the new place (electric, water, internet, etc.).

Another thing you’ll want to think about is what you’ll be packing your belongings in. We were very lucky to have a connection to a school – through my grandmother – so we were able to get a ton of paper boxes that way. And now we are able to get paper boxes through one of my mother’s friends who works in a print shop. So keep an eye out for those kinds of situations because I guarantee you, there are so many places you can get free boxes that would otherwise be recycled. Think print/copy shops (UPS-type places), schools, universities, and I’ve even been told that you can get boxes from liquor stores if you come for the boxes the day of their delivery.

Spread Out the Work

If you know when you are moving you can space out how much you pack at a time. I promise you there is always a chunk of your belongings that really don’t need to be used for that short period of time before moving. For us, I started packing up our things about three or four weeks ago (we are moving on Saturday). This was so helpful for me and my stress level because I was able to do at least something. I did whatever I could each day, taking some days to do nothing because I didn’t feel well. This also means that, come Saturday, we will only have the bare minimum to pack.

Don’t Feel Bad That You Just Can’t

This one is incredibly hard for me. I have always liked knowing that I wasn’t too weak to help carry boxes and move furniture. Especially now that I’m not doing sports it’s nice to know that I haven’t completely lost all of my muscle. But, being pregnant, I can’t do any of that anymore. So I’m working on being ok with my limitations. So instead of focusing on what I can’t do, I’m trying to focus more on what I can – getting and staying organized.

 

Life certainly gets hectic sometimes. And moving just seems to throw everything out of control. When you’re pregnant and have kids during this process, though, it’s important to remember to do what you can. Don’t do more than you are able. You can always (and should) ask for help.

Leave a Reply

