Ups and Downs of Life & Pregnancy

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I last posted. This pregnancy has been so completely different from my first and has certainly been keeping me on my toes. Add to that our current financial/job/living situation and I’m holding on by… well, not much.

BJ was laid off at the beginning of the month (*luckily* we knew it was coming) and still hasn’t been able to find anything. Our current lease is up at the end of July and we knew quite some time ago that we would not be renewing our lease again because of the new management company. Because BJ lost his job, we will also be off his company insurance any day now. And to top it all off, our sweet baby is due August 5 – though I really don’t think she’ll wait that long to join us.

It’s amazing how things just add up all at once to really test your limits. We are doing everything we can to remain positive about everything, and even more to get all of our things figured out. BJ is continuously looking and applying for any and all jobs available in the area. And thankfully, just this last week, we have gotten insurance settled and have found an apartment to move into at the beginning of next month.

Sadly, I’m struggling a little less each time I talk about our current situation. It is really scary to have all of these things happen at once and to know that there is only so much I can do to rectify any of it. I can only say I am incredibly grateful for our wonderful family, who have all offered their spare rooms for us to live in until we can get our feet under us again. And for the financial assistance I know we have access to, should we really need it.

Our lives – yours, mine, everyone else’s – consist of so many ups and downs. And so many things that are, really, out of our control. Luckily, we have the option to take those situations and do all in our power to change them or find a way out. But I can say, from experience, that we can’t do everything on our own. Sometimes we need to turn to those people around us to get us through our difficult times until we can start doing more and more on our own.

Leave a Reply

