The Push to the End, To Start Anew

What’s one of the worst things in the world? Having a sick toddler. Ok, so it’s not very high up on the list of horrible things, but it definitely makes things around her a little funky. Throws off all the routines, and lucky for me, I got sick this time right as she was getting better.

There’s always a story, or an excuse, or a something. So as we’re nearing the end of 2016 I’m giving myself permission to be a little more lax about things. I’m trying my best to focus more on my home and my family, spending my time with Sweet Girl instead of thinking about what I could possibly write my next blog post about. And it’s probably a good thing, too, because at the beginning of next month I will be starting my online store, selling homemade health and beauty supplies.

The end of the year finds me thinking back on the last 11 1/2 months. What have I done that I feel pride in? What have I done that I would like to continue doing? What have I done that I would like to stop and leave behind? There are a lot of things that fit into each category. I’ll be leaving things behind and continuing things that I feel make me happy or make my family happy, just like everyone else.

This time of year I’m always reminded just how much I forget to connect with others. Old friends, family that I don’t get to see often. I get sucked into my own life that I forget completely the people I love dearly who have helped me to get exactly where I am right now. Friends who have known me for many years, who have helped me through incredibly tough times, who have been with me to laugh at the silliest of inside jokes. Family who I have looked to for guidance, who were once playmates at family gatherings.

As I get older I’m realizing just how difficult it can be to stay connected to the ones we love. Just how easy it can be to focus so much on what’s going on in your own little world that you forget about those people just outside of it. And so every year at New Years my resolution is the same. I have no desire to start a workout routine (I can’t even describe to you how much I loathe working out). I don’t feel the need to change the way that I’m eating, I think I do pretty well in that department. My goal each year is to be better at connecting with the people I love the most. My wonderful friends, my family.

I challenge you, as we head into 2017, to think back on your year. What would you change? What would you like to keep the same in the new year? What is truly important to you? With the way the world is turning these last few years it is more important than ever that we stick to the things that really matter – the love of family, the support of friends, and doing our best to support even those we don’t know. Love is what will get us through. I may not know your name, where you’re from, your life experiences, but I love you just the same.

Leave a Reply

