Post-Holiday Refresh

This is the first time I’ve ever hosted a holiday dinner and man, it was exhausting. Don’t get me wrong, I loved having everyone here, but putting together the dinner, and entertaining family just wore me out.

Having said that, I had so much fun putting together a full thanksgiving dinner. Turkey, mashed potatoes, mac’n’cheese, butternut squash, peas, rolls, pumpkin pie, chocolate chip cookies. All homemade, all home cooked. When I saw it all laid out on the table I felt this incredible sense of accomplishment. I did that. It felt great to know that I created this whole meal to share with my family.

wp-1480355976981.jpgwp-1480355960663.jpg

Having my in-laws here was great, as well. We don’t get to see them much as they live so far away, so I loved that they were able to come out and spend time with Sweet Girl. It took her some time to warm up to them but eventually she did. And I know BJ really enjoyed having his family here.

Our first thanksgiving together – a homemade meal, family here to celebrate – was fantastic. I’m not sure when I’ll want to do the whole bit again, but for our first one together, it seemed to me like it was perfect.

Sorry I don’t have much to say today, I’m still recovering from all the excitement over the weekend. Stay tuned tomorrow for Essential Oils for Illness, Part 2. Check out this post for the first five essential oils I go to when I get sick.

Leave a Reply

