Finding Joy

As a human being it can be hard to find joy in your everyday life. It seems that each day something “goes wrong” and it remains the sole focus for the rest of the day. The rest of the day is seemingly ruined because that one thing has gone wrong. And when you have kids and a spouse that makes things a whole lot more difficult at home.

There have been a lot of days where I let the one thing get in the way of enjoying my time with my family. Whether I didn’t get enough sleep the night before or I’ve let little things get to me throughout the day, I seem to let them overwhelm me and ruin the rest of my day.

At church this past Sunday we had a lesson regarding joy and the importance of finding it “regardless of what is happening in our lives” (Pres. Russell M. Nelson). It was a fantastic lesson and gave me a renewed insight into what I should be focusing on. One of the other women made a comment about how us moms with infants and toddlers should try hard to focus on the joyous moments. As I have experienced first-hand some days are incredibly trying and finding a good moment in a day full of fussing and hitting. But during this discussion during one of our church meetings I remembered a specific moment when Sweet Girl was around 4 months old.

I was up to feed her in the middle of the night, again, and I was enjoying it. I was exhausted, having already been up twice to feed her, but all I could think was that I was in the best spot on earth. Middle of the night feedings were my favorite time. When I was sitting in my rocking chair, nursing Sweet Girl, it felt like it was just us. No extraneous noise from cars or people, no distractions, just the two of us coming together. For the longest time that was what kept me going through the day. I could never find the motivation to get out of the apartment, so we spent most of our time at home.

joy-in-the-journey

I’ve been trying so hard lately to focus on the joy. Some days it’s harder than others but for the most part I’ve been able to find something each day that makes all the bad totally worth it. Every time Sweet Girl wants to play “chase the baby,” when she gives me the biggest grin after I’ve gone to the store, I can’t help but feel my heart soar. It’s moments like those that help me get through the more trying times.

There is joy in every day. It may be only a moment, but there will be a flash of joy. When it comes, hold on to it. Keep it in your heart, remember it when things go south. Remember that moment until you get to your next joyous moment.

Finding joy can be hard. It can take all the focus you have to find that one small sliver of home in a torrential downpour of irritation, depression, frustration, and any other ‘tions that may come up. But I can tell you it’s worth it. Those small moments of joy I get from Sweet Girl’s smile make everything else worth it.

Leave a Reply

