Drinking Water – Most Important Part of a Healthy Diet

I am sure I’m not the only person who has heard we should all be drinking 8 glasses of water a day. That seems like such a daunting number. And I know a lot of people struggle to even get half that much water. I have been in quite a number of conversations with others who say they can never seem to get enough water each day.

This used to be me, too. I would usually keep a reusable water bottle with me at all times, and drink it all down. The problem for me was having to keep refilling it throughout the day. I just never remembered to keep it filled up and I would get to the end of the day and realize I’ve only had about 3 or 4 “glasses” of water.

You can find an incredible amount of information about why you should drink enough water during the day. Here is what the CDC says:

Water helps your body:

  • Keep your temperature normal
  • Lubricate and cushion joints
  • Protect your spinal cord and other sensitive tissues
  • Get rid of wastes through urination, perspiration, and bowel movements”

Drinking enough water each day plays an important role in proper body functioning. Because the human body is almost 75% water it is important to replenish daily. Drinking plenty of water helps maintain healthy skin, proper digestion, and helps with weight loss.

So how in the world do you get enough water each day? I’ve seen some people keep a gallon-sized jug with them all day with markings so they remember to drink a certain amount of water by a specific time of day. I also know that some people are much better about filling their bottles throughout the day. I, however, have my own way to make sure I drink plenty of water.

wp-1477590164524.jpg
The glass on the left is a typical dinner glass, about 16 oz. The jug will hold 64 oz. of liquid.

The jug in the picture above is my way of keeping hydrated every day. I’ll usually drink 1.5 or 2 jugs full of water each day. I fill it at the beginning of the day, then again right before dinner. This is the easiest way I’ve found to remember to drink water all day long.

I know what you’re thinking, don’t I get tired of lugging that thing around all day? I would say, yes, sometimes. But for the most part I don’t mind. I’ve been using this jug daily for several years so it’s just become a part of the routine.

I challenge you. Take one week and drink 8-10 glasses of water each day. Keep track of how you feel  each day – whether it’s written down or just in your head – and compare your before and after. Let me know what happens. I’d be interested to see if at the end of that week you feel significantly better. I know I always feel much better after I drink a lot of water when I’m dehydrated.

Leave a Reply

