Sweet Girl is Dairy Free

Pinterest is my go to for so many things. My number one reason for using Pinterest – meal ideas. I love cooking and baking but I am not very creative or imaginative when it comes down to it. So having all the wonderful bloggers posting fantastic recipes is great for our dinner plans. My current favorite that also gives us more leftovers than I know what to do with is a recipe from Leelalicious.com for Slow Cooker Butternut Squash Chicken Quinoa Stew. I’m usually not one for stew or soup but this was fantastic. And a hit with everyone, especially with my homemade bread bowls.

Another recipe I found recently is one for ghee, or clarified butter. My research told me that even people with dairy issues could eat it, which would be great because butter is awesome. Anyway, I made an attempt at making ghee (basically heating butter in a crock pot for 3-7 hours and straining out the solidified milk proteins). It looked like it was supposed to, I strained it like I was supposed to, so I assumed I had done it correctly. The next morning I used some of that ghee on Sweet Girl’s pancakes . I was, unfortunately, sadly mistaken. The whole day we had spit up and diarrhea. Either I didn’t do it correctly (which is absolutely possible) or Sweet Girl can have no dairy. At all.

It’s hard as a parent when you know something is bothering your little one but you have no idea what it is and you don’t know how to fix it. For several months we were struggling to figure out what was going on with Sweet Girl. It’s sad knowing she can’t have dairy (I could seriously eat dairy all day every day and be happy) but I am so happy that we know the cause of her issues and can now be proactive.

I have a hard time in situations where I don’t know my expectations or how to best navigate a new situation. So sometimes being a mom is hard. Ok, it’s always hard, but absolutely worth it. Knowing now that Sweet Girl has an allergy, and especially knowing that I can address it without medications, gives me a direction. I can’t express how grateful I am for mom instincts and my growing understanding of natural healing.

Leave a Reply

