Learning a Healthier Way to Eat

I am a meat and potatoes girl. I love burgers, steak, bacon, chicken, bread, pasta, rice. If a meal involves meat and carbs, I’m happy. I enjoy vegetables and fruits but in the past I didn’t go out of my way to buy any to eat. And then I had a baby. I knew that wouldn’t be good for her, just foods high in protein, iron, and carbohydrates. So when she started eating more solid foods I started to purchase more fruits and veggies.

wp-1476893480792.jpg
My current stash of fruits and veggies. Most from the local co-op.

Throughout Sweet Girl’s life (I really shouldn’t call her Roly Poly anymore, because she is neither roly nor poly) she has dealt with various digestive issues. Nothing major but significant enough to cause her discomfort and me to worry. At about two months we realized she was dealing with reflux so we took steps to help ease the symptoms and her pain without medication with success. Around eleven months or so we notices she was having more digestive problems – spitting up again (after not doing so for about seven or so months); constipation; and black poo (sorry, not sorry). Turns out, after eliminating all dairy from her diet, she has a dairy sensitivity. And now we’re thinking she’s getting too much iron.

Good grief, being a parent is hard, for those of you that aren’t parents. There is always something going on in your little one’s body. And a lot of the time we are guessing what it is and how we can help. In the case of Sweet Girl, we are trying a couple different things to see if we can help her digestion without needing to turn to medical testing (that we really can’t afford, even with insurance) or medication. All my research into natural remedies has led me to look deeper into how the food we eat has an effect on our bodies.

Not only am I working to give Sweet Girl a more well-rounded diet, I’m also working to eat more fruits and especially veggies myself. Because of Sweet Girl’s dairy intolerance we have had to switch her over to drinking almond milk instead of cow’s milk. And because I don’t want to make her a special meal any time we are eating something other than leftovers we are working to make dairy-free dinners for the family. Also, thanks to all the veggies we’re buying for our little girl, it’s a lot easier to remember that I need to eat them, too.

Learning to eat healthier is a work-in-progress in our house. Sometimes we forget to make any veggies or even eat something besides burgers or tacos. But we are certainly getting much better at incorporating fresh fruits and vegetables in every meal and snacks. Have you found it difficult to keep up with a well-rounded diet? Do you have any tricks you use to keep up with the daily demand of your little one’s diet?

wp-1476893480855.jpg
Dried peppers and cherry tomatoes from my dad’s garden. I love having someone close by where I can go pick completely fresh ingredients. And that Sweet Girl can eat things straight from the vine. She at one of those cherry tomatoes, surprising Grandpa R.
3 thoughts on “Learning a Healthier Way to Eat

  1. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The text in your post seem to be running off the screen in Firefox.

    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to
    let you know. The style and design look great though! Hope you get the problem solved soon. Cheers

    Like

Leave a Reply

