End of the Year Holidays – All About Family

I love the end of the year for so many reasons. The change in the weather, the leaves changing color, the holidays, and my birthday. From October to December it seems like everyone is returning their focus to what really matters: family. The weather gets cooler and all you want to do is snuggle up with your loved ones and children. Thanksgiving is coming and plans are being made to have a great feast with family. Christmas follows soon after and everyone is thinking about what gifts to give to their family.

At least that is what’s going on around here. Now that Roly Poly is getting old enough to be aware of holiday celebrations and special occasions we are preparing for lots of family gatherings. And I just went to the store today and got her Christmas presents so I wouldn’t have to worry about it at the last minute.

garfield-holidays

The biggest thing we are preparing for, however, is our first family Thanksgiving. Since BJ and I got married we have spent Thanksgiving with one of our families. But this year we are hosting our own. I cannot tell you how excited I am. We invited BJ’s parents (I absolutely love his parents) and brother to come out from Utah, my mom and sister, and my grandparents to spend the holiday with us. It will be a full house and it will be so wonderful.

I’ve started planning what food we’ll eat, how in the world we will fit nine adults and one baby in our apartment, tables, everything. We have a small apartment, which seems smaller with just four adults and a baby. How it will work with so many people will be a fun experiment.

snoopy-thanksgiving
Don’t you just love Peanuts?

As you prepare yourselves and your homes for the upcoming holidays I encourage you to also remember that family is the most important thing. Spending time with loved ones and friends should be your number one priority. I promise you, even if you don’t have family nearby and you feel like you’ll have to be alone for the holidays, there is at least one person you could spend that time with.

I am grateful to have family nearby and to have some of BJ’s family coming to see us this Thanksgiving. I am grateful that we have a home and enough to provide for our small family. I am grateful for all the assistance we receive from family and from The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I am grateful for my beautiful daughter who challenges me every day. I am grateful for my wonderful and supportive husband who is a constant strength to me.

Family is the rock I that keeps me grounded. They help keep me focused on what really matters.

Leave a Reply

