Are You…

If you can’t tell already from previous posts I’m really starting to embrace a more natural and sustainable lifestyle. Because of this switch my husband called me a hippy last week. I thought, “Ok. Thanks.” But this morning I couldn’t help but wonder, was I really? So I looked it up. Thanks to Wonderopolis.org, Urban Dictionary, and Wikipedia, and GreenLivingIdeas.com, I now have a few answers that may help me find the category I could fit into.

So, are you a hippy, crunchy/granola, or environmentally conscious?

Hippy (or Hippie)

  • They possess a core set of beliefs revolving around the values of peace and love
  • Often associated with non-violent anti-government groups
  • They take a stand against conformity, or being a sheep
  • Generally showed their “dissatisfaction with society” by their appearance (bell-bottoms, tie-dyed t-shirts, long hair, etc.)
  • Cared for the environment
  • Listened to new (in the ’60s) kinds of music – psychedelic rock’n’roll and folk music
  • Held music festivals, large gatherings, and sit-ins

Crunchy or Granola

  • Live an adjusted or altered lifestyle for environmental reasons
  • Environmentally aware, open-minded, left-winged, socially aware and active, queer or queer-positive, anti-oppressive/discriminatory (race, sex, gender, class, age, etc.)
  • Organic and natural emphasis on living
  • Usually refrain from consuming or using anything containing animals and animal by-products (for health and/or environmental reasons
  • Limit what (s)he consumes; concerned about wasting resources

Environmentally Conscious

  • Make conscious choices to preserves the environment; sensitive to environmental impact
  • Reduce, Reuse, Recycle, Rot (compost)
  • Buy local
  • Conserve water
  • Dispose of chemicals and other harmful products appropriately

I know people who would fit into each of those categories. My brother fits squarely into the hippy category: communes, drum circles, anti-conformist, long hair. (I bet you don’t know too many hippies.) I, on the other hand, would not qualify as a hippy. And that’s ok. My own personal beliefs don’t really align with those of the hippies. But I would fit squarely into either the crunchy/granola box or the environmentally conscious box. More so in the last year than ever before.

Check out the ways I’m trying to be more eco-conscious and eco-friendly.

  1. Switching to glass and other more sustainable, long-lasting, reusable containers
  2. Cloth diapers instead of disposable
  3. Cloth napkins instead of paper napkins and paper towels
  4. Washcloths instead of toilet paper
  5. Replacing cotton balls with squares of cotton fabric
  6. Using reusable cloth pads instead of disposable feminine products
  7. Buying in bulk, taking containers to the store (eliminates packaging)
  8. Buying produce at farmers’ markets (no stickers, local produce so limited shipping)
  9. Making products at home where I can (medicines, cleaners, makeup)

And here are some other things I hope to switch to as we are able to:

  1. Wool dryer balls instead of dryer sheets
  2. Using ceramic, glass, stainless, or cast-iron cooking vessels to replace non-stick ones
  3. Eliminating all plastic utensils and using only wooden or stainless utensils instead
  4. Using only stainless or glass containers for food storage and leftovers
  5. Making or purchasing beeswax cloths to replace plastic wrap
  6. Bamboo toothbrushes instead of plastic
  7. Reusable sandwich/snack bags instead of plastic

There are so many things we can do as individuals to help reduce our impact on the environment. Little things, like I’m trying to do around here, that can make a big impact. I can’t tell you the number of family members I’ve told about all the things I’m doing that are starting to think about their own impact on the environment. And that’s all I can ask for – for everything to think and be aware of the things they buy, the things they use, and how all of that affects the world around them. The products and foods you bring into your home have a long life to consider, from production to disposal. Are you choosing more eco-friendly options?

What category would you choose for yourself? Would it be a combination of several? How are you incorporating more eco-conscious or eco-friendly choices into your own life?

2 thoughts on “Are You…

  1. Somewhat Crunchy & Granola 🙂 I don’t think I do all the things above, but I could definitely see myself doing a lot of them. Thanks for sharing. Now you can tell your Hubby, “I am NOT a hippy, that’s my brother” 😉 ha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

