Essential Oils – Our New Go To

I love essential oils. I’ve only been using them for a few months but I go to them for everything. My husband is starting (ok, has been from the beginning) to give me funny looks when I bring them up or say, “There’s an oil for that.” But, really, the more I research the more I’m finding that statement to be true. There really is an oil for just about everything.

We are lucky in our home to not have any major or chronic issues to address. Other than seasonal allergies we’re mostly addressing random issues that pop up, like bug bites, diaper rash (which is rare, thankfully), or minor burns from cooking.

But essential oils don’t just manage those minor irritations and health concerns, they are also great for your daily maintenance care. From cleansers to moisturizers to use in aromatherapy they have such a wide range of uses for an even wider range of issues.

Currently I have oregano, lavender, lemon, cypress, peppermint, and tea tree essential oils (and rosemary is currently in the mail). And for the carrier oils I have apricot kernel, jojoba, and castor oils. These really do everything I could need. They help with itching (especially my million bug bites from this past weekend); they kicked my immune system into high gear when I was fighting something and had swollen tonsils; and they do a fantastic job with my daughter’s sometimes not 100% digestive system. I use them in my skincare routine morning and night, and when I brush my teeth. They knock out my migraines – which is an absolute miracle, when before I got pregnant I would have to take two Excedrin Migraine to get any kind of relief.

Over the next few posts I’ll tell you about the oils we have and how we blend them to tackle our health concerns. Hopefully they will inspire you to look more closely at your healthcare items. It may not be possible for you to make the switch (I definitely believe modern medicine has its place) but at least you will be more conscious of the things you are using on yourself and your family.

Leave a Reply

