Homemade Applesauce

Recently we’ve been dealing with some digestion issues with Roly Poly. We’ve had to cut out dairy completely to try to figure out what exactly is causing her so much trouble. The problem in our house is we use dairy every day, several times a day. Particularly me. I love milk. I often tell people I drink it like it’s water. I have a huge glass with every breakfast, a huge glass with any desserts we have, I often will have a bowl of cereal for a snack (because it’s just so awesome!) so more milk there. Then there is the cheese. Cheese on everything because everything is better with cheese. Sour cream, cottage cheese, cream cheese, butter. The list is just endless.

So now I am forced to reevaluate all the things I make and figure out how to make them dairy-free (I’m hoping just for the time being, but who knows what will happen). I will say, though, that I still eat all things dairy (she seems to have no issues getting milk protein through my breastmilk). So I’m trying to come up with things I can make just for Roly Poly that have absolutely no dairy in it. But where does that leave me? I can’t bake anything because all the recipes I know call for milk, butter, or both. And we don’t keep things like applesauce (usually) or coconut oil in the house. They just aren’t things that get eaten a whole lot.

But today, I am doing something I’ve never done before – making applesauce from scratch. Seems easy enough, with so few ingredients. Apples, a little water, and lemon juice for a little preservative power. Thanks to the infinite power of the internet, I was able to find all sorts of recipes I could follow to make some great homemade applesauce. So putting those together, and making it as simple for me as possible, this is what I’ve come up with.

10 medium apples, sliced or cubed, cores removed
3/4 cup water
Juice from half a lemon

wp-1473709591625.jpg

Put apples in your pot. Mix together water and lemon juice then pour over top.

wp-1473709591624.jpg

Set the burner to medium heat, cover and cook until the apples are soft (about 30 minutes). Then mash them, use an immersion blender, or scoop them into your regular blender. I decided to mash them first, then put them in the blender because I will use a lot of it for baking in place of eggs.

Once it’s cooled, put it in your container (I love using recycled glass containers for everything) and either freeze it or put it in your fridge.

This recipe fills about half of my 5 gallon pot (because that’s how many apples I had in the kitchen). I didn’t peel any of them because I didn’t want to and that takes out a lot of the nutrition of the apple. You could also add a little cinnamon or some kind of sugar if you like your applesauce to be sweet. But I promise you, they won’t need it. When you cook the apples you release all of their natural juices. So yummy!

I’m so glad I had these apples and I could throw this applesauce together so quickly because now I can bake things for Roly Poly without using butter. And they will be healthier, too, because she won’t get all the fat from the butter, either.

wp-1473715417300.jpg
Roly Poly enjoying some homemade applesauce in her Mommy Yummy reusable pouch. 

.

 

Leave a Reply

