Essential Oils – All Natural Medicine

So many things about having a baby make life more complicated. Especially for the woman having that baby. Your outward appearance changes, your body chemistry changes, your emotional well-being changes, you can’t use certain products (cleaning or health), you can’t eat certain foods, you have to eat certain foods, you WANT to eat certain foods. It seems like overnight you are forced to become a whole new person because you are creating a whole new person.

It can be frustrating to say the least. I know it was hard for me to be consciously aware of everything that I was putting in my body and everything that was being used around me. I was constantly on the lookout to make sure I wasn’t exposing Roly Poly to things that would harm her development. For a while it was just exhausting. But as time went on it seemed to become more second nature. And now that she’s more than a year old I’m becoming even more aware of all of the things that are being not only used and eaten in our home but also everything that gets brought into it.

Because I’m still breastfeeding I have to maintain a constant vigilance over everything I put in and on my body. I recently discovered that I can’t take Ibuprofen for my almost daily headaches because Roly Poly has a reaction to it. Her body can’t process it so I can no longer use it. And because my headaches are more often than not migraines I would typically take Excedrin Migraine, but I already know that she would have a serious reaction to that so that’s out. And I don’t know about you, but if you have lots of headaches you already know that Tylenol does just about nothing to get rid of them. So what’s a mama to do?

Enter essential oils.

I know, I know. What a crack pot way to take care of something like that. But think about it. What were people doing to ease every day aches, pains, ailments, etc.? There’s no way people just lived with these issues and did nothing to find some form of relief.

About a month ago a friend at church gave me a sample pack of oils from doTerra. (Bear with me. I’m not pushing one particular company and I receive nothing if you do decide to go with doTerra.) She has been using essential oils for her family of 6 for years and swears by them. I decided that since I was getting these for free I could do a little research and give them a try. The sample pack included Peppermint Essential Oil, Lavender Essential Oil, and Melaleuca (or Tea Tree) Essential Oil.

Let’s back up a second though. What is an essential oil? Why is it special? What do they do? Here are some answers I found for those questions.

“In short, essential oils are concentrated, liquid plant extracts used for therapeutic and medicinal purposes. They are called “essential” because they contain the essence of a plant, including its aroma and health properties. Since essential oils can be taken from virtually all plants, many essential oils come from various sources, including flowers, grasses, fruits, roots, trees, and leaves.” -from Rocky Mountain Oils

“Essential oils are the fragrant, highly concentrated natural constituents that are found in plants. They are what give the plant its characteristic odour and contain the healing power of the plant from which it was extracted. When used correctly, essential oils bring a wide range of health benefits since unlike modern drugs, they have no side-effects.” – from Quinessence Aromatherapy

“On a chemical level, our bodies and essential oils are made from many of the same substances, including complex chemicals called terpineols, which are naturally occurring alcohols that play a vital role in the body’s production of vitamins, energy, and hormones. They are produced during the constant process of cellular respiration, and they contribute to the body’s cellular energy supply, aiding in processes such as metabolism and healing. These important chemicals are also found in many essential oils, as plants produce them during growth. They are very easy for the human body to absorb and use for both nourishment and healing.” – from Essential Oils for Beginners: The Guide to Get Started with Essential Oils and Aromatherapy by various contributors

There are so many places to find excellent information about the whats, hows, whys, wheres, and whos of essential oils. I will say that from my initial research into them and my own personal experience with the samples I received from a friend that I am a believer. Since receiving those samples I have purchased my own essential oils and have not regretted that decision. I use them on myself and Roly Poly – properly diluted, and using only those oils safe for an infant on Roly Poly – for a wide variety of things. I will post more about how we use them safely and what we use them for. I will also include some of the blends we use and maybe they will work for you as well.

 

Here is a short list of books that I am currently reading through on essential oils that have excellent information.

  • The Directory of Essential Oils by Wanda Sellar
  • Essential Oils for Beginners: The Guide to Get Started with Essential Oils and Aromatherapy from Althea Press
  • The Complete Book of Essential Oils & Aromatherapy by Valerie Ann Worwood
Leave a Reply

